Another Jaunt

Life keeps getting in the way and its almost impossible to sit down and write whats going on. Because there’s so much to say and so little time..!!

The most recent update being the trip I took with my family day before yesterday.

I don’t remember the last time I went on a care-free trip with my cousins. The only memories I have of such trips are safely compiled in select photo albums. Like my cousins I am a school-going kid in all the pictures.

Yes, we do meet every now and then. When someone gets married, an uncle or aunt turns sixty, when a couple celebrate their anniversary, Onam, Vishu, Christmas and whenever there are such cliche yet special occasions. But there’s never been a time in the last five years, when we all just wanted to take a break from whatever we were doing and get out of home. Not until day before.

All the credits would go to my mother of course!! 🙂

We decided to go to Ezhattumugham, a riverside picnic spot situated about 12 kilometres away from Nedumbassery airport. Even though I was a little skeptic initially about going to the place, what I saw as we reached there made me change my mind.

Set in a secluded area with pristine green vegetation, the location by itself was beautiful. The river was enchanting as it flowed through thick forests forming rock pools of crystal clear water which served as bathing banks for all. Plus, the Ezhattumugham-Thumpoormuzhi hanging bridge only added to the beauty of the place.

As we reached the place, I was surprised to see Appa turn into a child! From all the times I remember, I have not seen him this enthusiastic and lively! The minute we crossed over a small rivulet to reach the main banks, my father went and sat on a rock so that the river water came up to his waist. I shall never forget how happy he looked as he took his shirt off and took a dip in the river, letting the water soak him. I shall never forget how he waded off to sit on a rock in the middle of the river, despite the fact that he couldn’t swim -stumbling but smiling. 🙂

I don’t know how quickly time flew as we whiled our time away in the water. All I remember is how much fun we had. As each of us made our way to join my father as he floated in the river without a care in the world. As we helped each other get to the middle of the river one at a time, forgetting how none of us knew to swim, forgetting how treacherous the river was. I recall how we shrieked as we drowned ourselves in the water banging and bruising our arms and legs against the rocks. I remember amidst all this how Amma was silently praying to the gods to keep her children safe – something only a mother could manage! 🙂

By the time we got out of the water, the sun was high up on the west. After a quick snack and some ice creams, we headed out to the Prakrithi Gramam Park on the other side of the hanging bridge. The park was pretty big for its kind on a river bank. It had a beautiful garden with all kinds of flowers and plants.

My cousins and I became children again as we went inside the park. The swings, the see-saws and the slides brought back some truly happy memories we had shared a decade ago. All the more surprisingly, our parents became excited and took turns at the bigger swings. 😀 Here was a park where there were no boards for age limits, where you could use the swings and slides without having to struggle to fit in or fearing you would break it. I wouldn’t ever forget the smiles that flashed across any of our faces or the laughter which filled our ears that day.

As all good things come to an end, so did our day. At five in the evening, none of us wanted to leave the park. Tired and exhausted as we were, we did not want to leave. As far as I was concerned, I wished to take the river and the park home with me. Physically impossible though it is, I did! 🙂

Maybe my moms prayers were heard after-all. After we reached home around seven, it rained cats and dogs. Needless to say, we coaxed my cousins and their parents into a sleepover – yet another blue moon in years. The night was again memorable as we cracked jokes, dined together, looked through old photographs and played pranks – all under one roof. 🙂

Almost as if it was too luxurious, mundane life intervened again and we had to split our ways the next day. But, I am not complaining. That one day was sufficient to rekindle our bond and to bring us all together; to make us all realize how much we mean to each other as family. I hope we have many more such days together! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Another Jaunt

I am all ears!

