Bee-Day!!

It’s that special day of the year when people (even those who don’t know you πŸ˜‰ ) call you and text you to let you know you are on their mind and how much you mean to them. It’s your BIRTHDAYΒ Bee!! πŸ˜€

This is your first b’day since we became friends.Even though we are not together on this day, your b’day is just as special as you are to me.Β  πŸ™‚

You remember the day when you insisted that I should put a “B” on my blog? Well here goes! πŸ˜€

I think the most apt beginning would be to tell the world how I first met you!

It was one of those sad days in life when I had come to complete the admission process at SCMS – the day before classes started. R (I know) and I were roaming around with the hope of finding any to-be classmates. That’s when we ran into you in front of the canteen.

Next thing I know, R and you are hugging and laughing like long lost friends meeting again while I stand nearby feeling meh. :-/

Suddenly R turns around and introduces you to me saying “Nammalde classila ee kutty! Peru Binciya..” (This girl is going to be our classmate! Her name is Binciya.)

Before I can reply, you go “Edooo… You look like one of my friends. She lives in Paravoor. πŸ˜€ ” I’m like “uh huh.. nice! πŸ™‚ “

Next minute you ask, “Achan aa vazhikkokke vannatinda?? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€ ”Β (Has your dad been to that side?)

You just stood there laughing and guffawing at your own joke like an idiot! Trust me mentally, I had killed you thrice. πŸ˜€

After your joke is over, you suggest we go get something to eat from the canteen. I remember the declaration you made – “MY treat!” I was secretly wondering what sort of human being gives a treat to people she has just met. πŸ˜›

We went to the canteen and boughtΒ samosa (cz that was the only option we had then). You got a call or something and you asked us to pay from your wallet. (Pling!) We fished out your wallet from your FANCY yellow bag to find a roll of money. (Pling again!)

By the time we finish eating we talk a little and discover we have quite some mutual friends. Next statement you say, “Let’s take a Selfie!!” (Pling overload!) πŸ˜€

For some reason that did not happen. Just when R and I thought we could escape your madness and go home, you invite us to see your hostel room!

“Venenkil innu keri kando.. Nale thottu patoola..”, you say in a very matter-of-fact manner. By the time your invite is over I decide that you are not even close to normal and all I want to do is flee from you!

We head out to the hostel from the canteen. On the way we meet your dad who has unpacked your stuff and is waiting to say Goodbye. Poor man looks at you the way only a father could. Suddenly he hugs you and tears start streaming down his cheeks because he realizes he is going to miss you. :’)

Now the normal reaction of any daughter would be to hug him back and say “I’ll miss you too appa!”. But NO, not you darling! πŸ˜€

You say, “Ashye.. Edo manushya, than enthina karayane?! Shyeee.. Veeti podo! 😐 ” I mean who does that, but you? :-O

THAT is the exact moment I decided to run away from you! Which I did, of course!:-D

So, that’s how our first meeting went. When this happened it all seemed so bizarre to me, but now looking back, I realize it was perfectly normal of you to do whatever you did. Because it was such a typical Binciya Salim kind of thing to do!

That is just the way you are. Even though you look like you belong in a “Mean Girl” series, you aren’t close to being one. In fact, I don’t think you could hurt someone even if you wanted to! I’m sure everybody who has met you would agree if I said that “Kandal oru jaada look indenne ullu.. Vaa thuranna theernu! πŸ˜€ “

I know a lot of people who have and would still judge you (in my presence and absence). Its because they don’t understand the how or the why of the way you interact. God’s been kind to gift us classmates who don’t have lives of their own and make it their motto to judge our interactions (especially with guys). #feeling_blessed

But these people are nothing when compared to people who love you! Okay, so maybe 10% of the people don’t like you, but there is another 90% of the people who are in love with you. People who understand how innocent and naive you are, how you get none of the adult jokes made in class πŸ˜€ , how fluorescence is the essence of your dressing (Bazzinga!), how much you care about those who are close to you and just how ADORABLE you are! :-*

Today, you turned 22 years old. But trust me, we (your friends and family) don’t think you are anywhere close to behaving or being treated that way!! πŸ˜€ No matter how old you become, some things about you won’t change and we are all thanking God for that. Because you are one of your kind and you are irreplaceable, Bee! :-* ❀

God bless you. And Happy Birthday!! ❀

DSCN8785

7 thoughts on “Bee-Day!!

  1. This is so well written! and those little things about Binci that you mentioned..avale parichapettavar aarum marakkatha kore kaaryangal!! πŸ™‚

    Nice going Lakshmi!! I love you writing style as well!

    You are @wickedbean on IG right?? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. well said… πŸ™‚
    liked ur style of writing
    and I liked this quote ” Kandal oru jaada look
    indenne ullu.. Vaa thuranna theernu! ” πŸ˜€ :p

    Liked by 1 person

I am all ears!

